World of Showjumping

This week

Coming weeks

CSIO5* Coapexpan

CSI5* GCT/GCL Shanghai

CSI2* Oliva

CSI2* Eschweiler

CSI2* Opglabbeek

CSI2* Linz-Ebelsberg

CSI2*-W Porto Alegre

Beezie Madden honored with 2013 Whitney Stone Cup from USET Foundation

Tuesday, 28 January 2014

USET Foundation President S. Tucker S. Johnson, Beezie Madden and Brownlee O. Currey, Jr., Chairman of the Board.The United States Equestrian Team Foundation is pleased to announce that reigning Show Jumping World Cup Champion Beezie Madden of Cazenovia, NY, is the recipient of the 2013 Whitney Stone Cup. The award is presented annually to an active competitor who displays consistent excellence in international competition and high standards of sportsmanlike conduct while serving as an ambassador for the United States and equestrian sport. This marks the third year that Madden has received the prestigious honor after an incredible year that included her victory at the 2013 FEI Show Jumping World Cup Finals aboard Abigail Wexner's Simon in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Madden was presented with the award during the USET Foundation Gala on January 24th, in Wellington, Florida. "It's always an honor to win this award and be an ambassador for the sport," she stated. "This year has been amazing, and winning the World Cup was a huge accomplishment. All of the horses contributed, with Simon at World Cup and Cortes winning a qualifier at WEF last year and helping the teams qualify at the Nations Cups. It has been a huge team effort."

The 2013 World Cup Finals were a dream came true for Madden, a staple on the U.S. Show Jumping Team, who has won countless grand prix honors and competed all over the world. She and her talented mount Simon took home a title that had eluded her previously: World Cup Finals Champion. A brilliant clear round gave them an early lead and helped them get to the nail-biting jump-off, where Madden and Simon managed to best the reigning Olympic champions with a brilliant round and take home the coveted title.

The success did not stop there though, as Madden went on to win the $60,000 Great-West Life Cup 1.50m, the $35,000 ATCO Energy Solutions Cup 1.45m, and the $33,000 1.50m AON Cup at Spruce Meadows to earn the Spruce Meadows North American Leading Rider Award. She concluded the year with a victory in the Longines Grand Prix of Chantilly aboard Cortes 'C', as well as helping the United States win the Furusiyya Nations Cup Final Consolation Round by completing a clear jump-off round with Simon.

"I was happy with all of my horses and their progress over the year," noted Madden "We were able to finish the year early and give them a nice break, so I think they are going to be fresh and ready to go for this year. Simon and I have grown to know each other better and have been more consistent. I am really thinking Cortes had an equally good year with his Nations Cup performances and his win at Chantilly and Wellington."

Madden added, "That is probably what I am most satisfied with this year, because I've always believed in that horse. He's a little more sensitive than he looks, and he just needed more time. This year he got to where jumping clear rounds over big courses was what he did."

Madden will continue to compete in 2014 and hopes to return to the Show Jumping World Finals to defend her winning title, as well as representing the United States during the 2014 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games in Normandy, France.

"The Foundation has been great help to me and the U.S. Team," concluded Madden. "They fund our entire trip to WEG, and we owe a lot to them and the Foundation's contributors. WEG is the most important goal this year, and I think both horses will be ready."

The Whitney Stone Cup is awarded in honor of the late Whitney Stone, who served as President and Chairman of the Board of the United States Equestrian Team from 1953 to 1973. Mr. Stone was instrumental in the creation of a civilian equestrian team when the Army retired from competitive horse sports after 1948. Previous Whitney Stone Cup winners are:

1980 - Michael Matz

1981 - James C. Wofford

1982 - Norman Dello Joio

1983 - Melanie Smith (Taylor)

1984 - Carole Grant

1985 - Joe Fargis

1986 - Conrad Homfeld

1987 - Katie Monahan Prudent

1988 - Bruce O. Davidson

1989 - Gregory A. Best

1990 - William Long

1991 - Hap Hansen

1992 - Lana DuPont Wright

1993 - Carol Lavell

1994 - J. Michael Plumb

1995 - Robert Dover

1996 - Anne Kursinski

1997 - Leslie Burr Howard

1998 - David O'Connor

1999 - Valerie Kanavy

2000 - Karen O'Connor

2001 - Tucker Johnson

2002 - Guenter Seidel

2003 - Peter Wylde

2004 - Debbie McDonald

2005 - Chris Kappler

2006 - Elizabeth (Beezie) Madden

2007 - Elizabeth (Beezie) Madden

2008 - Miranda (Randy) Caldwell

2009 - Steffen Peters

2010 - McLain Ward

2011 - Tucker S. Johnson

2012 - Christine McCrea

2013 - Rich Fellers

Source: Press release from

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »