World of Showjumping

This week

Coming weeks

CSIO5* Coapexpan

CSI5* GCT/GCL Shanghai

CSI2* Oliva

CSI2* Eschweiler

CSI2* Opglabbeek

CSI2* Linz-Ebelsberg

CSI2*-W Porto Alegre

Edwina - the first GCT Millionaire

Friday, 24 June 2011

Edwina winning in Cannes two weeks ago. Photo by Jenny Abrahamsson.French rider Kevin Staut won the 1.45 class in Monaco yesterday aboard his stallion Major de Coquerie (Ahorn x Jalisco B). Right behind him was Edwina Alexander and Cevo Socrates (Darco x Chin Chin).


With the prize money of 4000 Euros Edwina became the first Global Champions Tour rider to win one million Euros in total prize money earned from the first event that took place in Wellington, USA in 2006. 


“I was so happy that I finished off the final earnings reaching the million mark with my horse Socrates. He has been such a big part of winning the total amount over the years.  We have won two other classes together here in Monaco over the time. I thought that I hadn’t gone quite fast enough and that others would be quicker in the class leaving me lower down in the placings,” commented Edwina.  “In fact, I am happy that I now don’t have to aim for this in the following events on the program this weekend.”


For full results go here.


In the biggest class yesterday the Prix Massimo Dutti Class, the Brasilian crew was unbeatable. The winner of the GCT in Doha Alvaro de Miranda and AD Ashleigh Drossel Dan (by Drosselklang II) continued their great form and won the class with Rodrigo Pessoa and Let’s Fly (Lordanos x Forrest) on a second place. The class counted 47 riders to start, but only four of them managed double clears. Together with the Brasilian guys these riders included Laura Kraut on the KWPN mare Teirra (Tolano van het Riethof x Aldatus) and Marc Houtzager aboard Voltaire (Now or Never M x Accord II).


For full results go here.


Tomorrow there will be a fight for more money and prestige when the main class kicks off at 6pm. The top 18 riders at the total ranking after four legs of the Global Champions Tour 2011 are;

1. Ludger Beerbaum (GER), 129

2. Edwina Alexander (AUS), 125

3. Denis Lynch (IRE), 120

4. Alvaro De Miranda Neto (BRA), 117

5. Luciana Diniz (POR), 83, Billy Twomey (IRE), 83, Gerco Schroder (NED) 83

8. Rolf-Goran Bengtsson (SWE), 72

9. Kevin Staut (FRA), 70

10. Phillip Weishaupt (GER), 64

11. Sergio Alvarez Moya (ESP), 63

12. Pius Schwizer (SUI), 61

13. Lars Nieberg (GER), 58

14. Judy-Ann Melchior (BEL),55

15. Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum, (GER), 52

16. Marcus Ehning (GER), 52

17. Sh Shakboot Bin Nahyan Al Nahyan (UAE), 49

18.Marco Kutscher (GER) 47


The full ranking you'll find here.

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »