World of Showjumping

This week

Coming weeks

CSIO5* Coapexpan

CSI5* GCT/GCL Shanghai

CSI2* Oliva

CSI2* Eschweiler

CSI2* Opglabbeek

CSI2* Linz-Ebelsberg

CSI2*-W Porto Alegre

Holland highest on the podium at the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup in Gijon

Saturday, 31 August 2013

The Dutch winning team in Gijon. Photo by Hípico Gijón.The Dutch team continued their winning ways in Gijon on Saturday, taking home the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup Europe Division 2. After two rounds, the four Dutch riders constituting the team were left on a total score of ten penalties – keeping their number one position from the first round. The next two teams also held on to their positions from round one; Great Britain ended second, and Belgium third.

The Dutch team was made out of four top riders; Gert Jan Brukking on Primeval Dejavu (Heartbreaker x Ramiro) , Jur Vrieling on Zirocco Blue VDL (Mr Blue x Voltaire), Frank Schuttert on Winchester HS (Numero Uno x Nimmerdor) and Harrie Smolders on Emerald (Diamant De Semilly x Carthago). The Dutch all made sure to have quite equal performances, with Bruggink being clear in the first round and then having one down in the second, while Vrieling had only a time penalty in the first and then a pole in the second on the 9 year old stallion. The 19 year old Schuttert continued to impress riding a four fault round the first time around, and then going clear in the second – while Smolders had a pole in the first and then just a time fault in the second round on the impressive chestnut stallion owned by Axel Verlooy.

Great Britain trailed close behind the Dutch team after the first round, only a three penalty score divided the teams. Both Louise Saywell and Robert Whitaker were clear, while William Whitaker’s eight penalties had to count when Daniel Neilson had twelve penalties in the first round. In the second round Neilson improved to only have a pole down on Zigali P S (Kigali x STB-H Palfrenier) – while Saywell produced a double clear on the lovely grey mare Hello Winner. As did Robert on Catwalk IV (Colman x Corleone), while William’s eight penalty score on Fandango (Last Liberty 988 x Krocket 651) was discharged – leaving the British crew on a total score of twelve penalties. Saywell and Whitaker’s double clears were the only two of the day in Gijon.

Belgium ended third on a score of 23 penalties after their riders all picked up faults. Patrik Spits had two round with four faults, while Jerome Guery had four in the first round and then had to see his twelve in the second being discharged. Dominique Hendrickx and Cor vd Wateringhoeve (Thunder van de Zuuthoeve x Lys de Darmen) were the best of the Belgians in the first round though with only a time fault, but in the second round the score board showed nine penalties that had to count. Gregory Wathelet and Papillon Z (Perhaps x Cassini I)had a good second round with only a time fault, after their first round at eight penalties was discharged.

Click here for full results.

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »