World of Showjumping

This week

Coming weeks

CSIO5* Coapexpan

CSI5* GCT/GCL Shanghai

CSI2* Oliva

CSI2* Eschweiler

CSI2* Opglabbeek

CSI2* Linz-Ebelsberg

CSI2*-W Porto Alegre

Spruce Meadows 'Masters' to welcome the world's best

Monday, 08 September 2014

Last year's CP International, presented by Rolex winner Pieter Devos. Photo by Spruce Meadows Media Services.The Spruce Meadows 'Masters' Tournament is set for an exciting CSIO5* competition on September 10-14, 2014. The feature competition of the week is the $1.5 Million CP International, presented by Rolex, one of the most prestigious grand prix events in the world and part of the Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping. There will be $2.8 million CAD on the line over the five days, an increase of more than half a million dollars from 2013. The top riders in the world, many having just competed at the FEI World Equestrian Games, will be on hand to thrill crowds as they compete for top prizes. Spruce Meadows welcomes team silver medalists Kevin Staut and Penelope Leprevost of France and team bronze medalists of the United States, McLain Ward, Kent Farrington, and individual bronze medalist Beezie Madden.

The $1.5 Million CP International, presented by Rolex offers the biggest prize money for a single-day event in show jumping and sets a new benchmark in the sport. A founding sponsor at Spruce Meadows, Canadian Pacific has helped make the Spruce Meadows 'Masters' Tournament the richest event in the world. The two round event starts at 12 p.m. on Sunday, September 14. It will be televised live by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and be seen in more than 100 countries around the world.

"We are excited to welcome these top riders to this year's edition of the 'Masters' Tournament," said Spruce Meadows President Linda Southern-Heathcott. "The $1.5 Million CP International, presented by Rolex will be a thrilling event with some of the biggest names in the sport, and we all eagerly await to see if someone can take home a prize as part of the Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping. We strive to improve the Spruce Meadows experience every year for our exhibitors, sponsors, and spectators, and we believe that the 2014 'Masters' will be truly memorable."

Spruce Meadows is host to the second leg of the Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping, following the Rolex Grand Prix of Aachen in July and prior to the CHI Geneva in December. The Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping is the first global initiative to reward the outstanding rider who wins the Grand Prix at each tournament in succession. Any rider who wins the Grand Prix at each of the three iconic tournaments consecutively will receive €1 million bonus on top of the prize money for each tournament's Grand Prix. Moreover, any rider who wins two out of the three tournaments' Grand Prix events will also receive a bonus of €500,000 in succession or €250,000 for winning two out of three.

Top team sport also returns to Spruce Meadows with the $300,000 BMO Nations' Cup on Saturday, September 13. Eight national federation teams will take part in the BMO Nations' Cup, including:

Canada – Olympic gold medalist Eric Lamaze, 10-time Olympian Ian Millar, Olympian Tiffany Foster, and 20-year-old rising star, Ben Asselin

U.S.A. - Olympic gold medalists Beezie Madden, McLain Ward, Leslie Howard, and Olympian Lauren Hough

Belgium – last year's CP International winner Pieter Devos, 2012 CP International winner Olivier Philippaerts, Nicola Philippaerts, and Niels Bruynseels

France – Kevin Staut, Penelope Leprevost, Cedric Angot, Marie Hecart

Germany – FEI World Cup Finals Champion Daniel Deusser, 2014 Rolex Grand Prix of Aachen winner Christian Ahlmann, Marco Kutscher, Philipp Weishaupt, and Andre Thieme

Great Britain – European Championship gold medalist Michael Whitaker, Robert Whitaker, William Whitaker, and Guy Williams

Ireland – Conor Swail, Shane Breen, Dermott Lennon, and Billy Twomey

Switzerland – Olympic gold medalist Steve Guerdat, Marie Etter, Alain Jufer, and Nadja Peter Steiner

Additional top individual riders will compete during the week of the 'Masters,' including the five all-time Spruce Meadows money winners. The roster includes riders such as U.S. Number One rider Kent Farrington, FEI World Cup Finals winner Rich Fellers (USA), Olympian Reed Kessler (USA), Richard Spooner (USA), Quentin Judge (USA), Kyle King (USA), Jonathon Millar (CAN), Christian Sorensen (CAN), Frank Shuttert (NED), Marc Houtzager (NED), Jaime Azcarraga (MEX), Luis Alejandro Placensia (MEX), Lucia Vizzini (ITA), Sameh El Dahan (EGY), Paulo Santana (BRA), and Mark Lindh (AUS).

Source: Press release from Spruce Meadows Media Services

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »