World of Showjumping
World of ShowjumpingWorld of Showjumping

Balsiger and Bonhof make their mark on day two of the Summer Festival 3 at Longines Tops International Arena

Saturday, 29 July 2023
CSI4* Longines Tops International Arena 2023

Photo © Longines Tops International Arena Bryan Balsiger and Chelsea Z, winners of the CSI4* 1.50m Grand Prix qualifier in Valkenswaard. Photo © Longines Tops International Arena.


Edited press release from Longines Tops International Arena



Day two of the Summer Festival 3 at the Longines Tops International Arena in Valkenswaard, the Netherlands, kicked off in the grass arena with the CSI4* 1.45m Table A – which saw some lightning quick double clears despite sporadic summer rain. Kars Bonhof (NED) and Ivoor (Eldorado vd Zeshoek x Verdi TN) took the top podium position, quickly followed by Harrie Smolders (NED) and Escape Z (Emerald x Heartbreaker) in second. Alberto Zorzi (ITA) and Floyd (Vinesse x Kannan) wrapped up the podium for this class, finishing just 0.36 seconds behind Smolders.

The CSI4* 1.50m against the clock – a Grand Prix qualifier – followed as the last class of the day in the grass arena with a stellar line-up of riders. With the likes of yesterday’s winner Jessica Springsteen, fresh off her win in the 2* Big Tour Grand Prix qualifier earlier in the day, as well as Nicolas Pizzaro, Maikel van der Vleuten, Abdel Said, Ioli Mytilineou, and Cian O’Connor, all making their mark.

A speedy clear from Bryan Balsiger (SUI) and Chelsea Z (Chellano Alpha Z x Cicero Z) left them on the podium for a second day running, this time in first position. With a time of 65.84 seconds, Balsiger was challenged by second-placed – and long-time leader of the class – Lorenzo de Luca (ITA) aboard Don Vito (Quaprice Bois Margot x Jus de Pomme), who finished in a time of 66.44 seconds. Third place was taken by Omer Karaevli (TUR) and Maurice (Thunder vd Zuuthoeve x Eros Platiere), a few seconds behind in 69.20 seconds. Mathijs van Asten (NED) and Sirocco (Balou du Rouet x Guidam) finished fourth, followed by Kevin Jochems (NED) and Casillas van de Helle (San Patrignano Corrado) in fifth. 


This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.