World of Showjumping

This week

Coming weeks

CHI Geneva

CSI5* MLSJ Thermal

CSI4*-W Riyadh
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

CSI3* Oliva

CSI2* Azelhof

CSI2* Riesenbeck

CSI2* Peelbergen
The Netherlands

The riders heading for the LGCT of Monaco

Monday, 25 June 2018
CSI5* LGCT Monaco 2018

Photo (c) LGCT / Stefano Grasso Photo (c) LGCT / Stefano Grasso

The top three on the LGCT-ranking will be in Monaco this week, as the stars of showjumping come out in force for the 9th leg of the Tour.

At the sharp end of the grid two-time LGCT-champion Edwina Tops-Alexander (AUS) leads the field on 172 points, just a LGCT Grand Prix win away from Ben Maher (GBR) in second who has 143 points overall. Breathing down his neck is another two-time LGCT-champion, Scott Brash (GBR), who sits a further 12 points away - the British star will be one to watch this weekend, having previously won at this venue in 2015.

All three riders look to be on phenomenal form, with Maher winning an impressive two LGCT Grand Prix events so far this season - Madrid and Saint Tropez. The British rider has an enviable line-up of top horses, allowing him play to their strengths at the varying and diverse arenas. Both Tops-Alexander and Brash have also won a Grand Prix each, however Tops-Alexander has also been on the podium and consistently in the points to keep her tally above the British riders, with the top eight results counting towards the final outcome.

Former winners back in action this weekend include 2017 winner Alberto Zorzi (ITA), 2016 winner Emanuele Guadiano (ITA) and 2014 winner Bassem Hassan Mohammed (QAT). Amongst the stars, big names, rising talent and legends of the sport will be battling for the coveted LGCT Grand Prix du Prince de Monaco presented by Sapinda win, one of the most prestigious accolades in showjumping. 

Looking to take the win under the evening lights will be the likes of world number 1 Harrie Smolders (NED), John Whitaker (GBR), Marcus Ehning (GER), Bertram Allen (IRL), Rolf-Göran Bengtsson (SWE), Simon Delestre (FRA), Maikel van der Vleuten (NED), Roger-Yves Bost (FRA), Marlon Zanotelli (BRA), Michael Whitaker (GBR), Georgina Bloomberg (USA), Pieter Devos (BEL), Jennifer Gates (USA), Gerco Schröder (NED), Philipp Weishaupt (GER) and Sheikh Ali Bin Khalid Al Thani (QAT).


Source: Press release from LGCT  // Picture © LGCT / Stefano Grasso

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.