World of Showjumping
World of ShowjumpingWorld of Showjumping

Longines EEF Series finalists from Group North and West are set: Belgium, Spain, Ireland, Sweden and Portugal qualify for the Warsaw Final

Saturday, 25 June 2022
CSIO3* Deauville 2022


Edited press release from the European Equestrian Federation



Friday's Nations Cup at the Pôle International du Cheval Longines-Deauville in Normandy, was thrilling right to the very last fence was jumped.

This competition, the first of the two semi-finals for the EEF series, decided the first five nations to earn a pass for the Longines EEF Series 2022 Final in Warsaw. The five teams that qualified were Belgium, Spain, Ireland, Sweden and Portugal.

Ten teams competed in the two rounds of the Nations Cup over a course built by Yann Royant, consisting of 12 jumps and 15 efforts measuring 1.50m. The two rounds finished with Ireland, Belgium and Spain on four faults – resulting in a jump-off. In the end it was Wilm Vermeir riding Joyride S (Toulon x Pachat II) who handed the win to the Belgium team, crossing the finishing line with a clear round in 41.65 seconds, beating Spanish rider Eduardo Alvarez Aznar on Full Option van’t Zand ((Flamingo K x Lord Z) who also was clear in 42.62 seconds. Ireland finished third on four faults in the jump-off having fielded Kevin Gallagher and Ballypatrick Flamenco (Je T'Aime Flamenco x Cruising).

The Belgium team consisted of Koen Vereecke/Lector VD Bisschop (Bamako de Muze x For Pleasure) (0/0), François Mathy Jr/Uno de la Roque (Numero Uno x Kannan) (0/4), Gudrun Patteet/Sea Coast Donna Z (Diamant de Semilly x C Indoctro) (8/8) and Wilm Vermeir/Joyride S (0/0/0) captained by Fabienne Daigneux-Lange.

Spain’s team was formed by Eduardo Alvarez Aznar/Full Option van’t Zand, (1/0/0) Armando Trapote/Tornado VS (Toulon x Contender) (0/4), Santiago Nunez Riva/Valentino de Hus (Vivaldi du Seigneur x Trophee du Rozel) (0/4) and Manuel Fernandez Saro/Jarlin de Torres (Jarnac x Calvaro F.C.) (0/0) led by chef d’equipe Carolo Lopez – Quesada.

The Irish team had selected Thomas Ryan/Springfield (Stakkato Gold x Classiker) (0/0), Jessica Burke/Namamia (Fantomas de Muze x Berlin) (0/4), Kevin Gallagher/Ballypatrick Flamenco (0/0/4) and Jenny Rankin/Carmela Z (Candillo 3 x Nissan Caretano Z) (0/8) led by Chef d’Equipe Taylor Ward.

After the Deauville Nations Cup, held during the prestigious Sotheby's International Realty CSIO, the teams competing in the Longines EEF Series now face the second semi-final in Budapest for nations qualified in the South and Central Regions.

The series comes to an end with the Warsaw Final (September 8-11) in which Belgium, Spain, Ireland, Sweden and Portugal will compete alongside the five best teams that will qualify at the Budapest Nations Cup next week.

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.