World of Showjumping
World of ShowjumpingWorld of Showjumping

2016 FEI Olympic Athletes Ranking finalized

Wednesday, 09 March 2016
The Olympic Games Rio 2016

Luciana Diniz and Fit For Fun 13. Photo (c) Jenny Abrahamsson.
Luciana Diniz and Fit For Fun 13 topped the overall 2016 FEI Olympic Athletes Ranking. Photo (c) Jenny Abrahamsson.

The 2016 FEI Olympic Athletes Ranking (Jumping) has been finalized. Fifteen individual quota places have been made available, with a maximum of two athletes with one horse each per NOC.

A total of four athletes qualify from group A (North Western Europe), B (South Western Europe), C (Central & Eastern Europe; Central Asia) and F (Africa and the Middle East). The best ranked athlete in the FEI Olympic Athletes Ranking (Jumping) from each of the four above mentioned groups will qualify one individual quota place for their NOCs. These are according to the ranking:

Group A: Ireland through Bertram Allen as rank 15

Group B: Portugal through Luciana Diniz as rank 2 

Group C: Turkey through Omer Karaevli as rank 55 

Group F: Morocco through Abdelkebir Ouaddar as rank 9 

In addition, the NOCs of the four best ranked athletes from the overall FEI Olympic Athletes Ranking (Jumping) can send riders to Rio. According to the ranking these athletes have qualified spots for their NOCs:

Belgium – two spots through Gregory Wathelet (rank 7) and Jerome Guery (rank 12)

Italy – one spot through Emanuele Gaudiano (rank 10) 

Egypt – one spot through Karim Elzoghby (rank 26) 

Venezuela has already earned two spots, Colombia two spots, while Peru and Uruguay have earned one spot each through the 2015 Pan Am Games. Taipei has the spot in Group G as they are the NOC of the best ranked athlete in this group following the FEI selected Olympic Qualification event, which was held in Hagen (GER) in 2015.

Under Olympic rules individual places are allocated to the country of the rider who secures the place rather than to the rider, which means none of the above mentioned riders are guaranteed to compete at the Games as their NOCs eventually decide which rider/riders will go.

There are fifteen teams already qualified for the Games; Brazil (host nation), Netherlands, France, USA, Germany, Sweden, Switzerland, Great Britain, Spain, Canada, Argentina, Qatar, Ukraine, Japan and Australia.

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.