World of Showjumping
World of ShowjumpingWorld of Showjumping

The riders for the Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final: Four past winners vying for the title

Tuesday, 07 November 2023
Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final 2023

Photo © IJRC/F.Petroni. Simon Delestre, Shane Sweetnam, Julien Epaillard, Ben Maher, Kent Farrington, Harrie Smolders, Martin Fuchs, Henrik von Eckermann, Steve Guerdat and Max Kühner will go head-to-head in the Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final 2023. Photo © IJRC/F.Petroni.

The International Jumping Riders Club (IJRC) has announced the riders who will compete in the 22nd Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final on December 8 2023, during the Concours Hippique International de Genève. 

A highlight in the equestrian calendar, the Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final brings together the ten best showjumpers in the world. Created in 2001 by the IJRC, the Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final recognizes and celebrates the achievements and talents of the world's best showjumpers over the preceding year.

The following riders will go head-to-head in a battle for end-of-the-year glory:

  1. Henrik von Eckermann (SWE)
  2. Ben Maher (GBR)
  3. Kent Farrington (USA)
  4. Martin Fuchs (SUI)
  5. Steve Guerdat (SUI)
  6. Julien Epaillard (FRA)
  7. Simon Delestre (FRA)
  8. Max Kühner (AUT)
  9. Harrie Smolders (NED)
  10. Shane Sweetnam (IRL)

McLain Ward (USA), currently ranked number six in the world, is unfortunately unable to travel to Europe to compete in this event.

This year’s final features four former winners: Von Eckermann, Maher, Guerdat and Farrington, while seven of the riders were among last year’s finalists.

“The Top 10 is a unique event, exciting, filled with emotion, a competition that even after more than 20 editions represents a milestone that the riders strongly hope to reach,” Eleonora Ottaviani, Director of the IJRC, said in a press release. “Winning the Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final signifies being crowned as the indisputable champion of the year. The enthusiasm of the public and media interest confirms the uniqueness and importance of this event.”


*Former winners of the Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final

2001, Geneva: Ludger Beerbaum (GER) and Goldfever

2002, Geneva: Ludger Beerbaum (GER) and Gladdys S 

2003, Geneva: Rodrigo Pessoa (BRA) and Baloubet du Rouet 

2004, Geneva: Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum (GER) and Shutterfly 

2005, Geneva: Rodrigo Pessoa (BRA) and Baloubet du Rouet 

2006, Geneva: Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum (GER) and Shutterfly 

2007, Geneva: Jessica Kürten (IRL) and Castle Forbes Libertina 

2008, Brussels: Michel Robert (FRA) and Kellemoi de Pepita 

2009, Paris: Marcus Ehning (GER) and Plot Blue 

2010, Geneva: Steve Guerdat (SUI) and Jalisca Solier 

2011, Paris: Billy Twomey (IRL) and Tinka’s Serenade 

2012, Geneva: Christian Ahlmann (GER) and Taloubet Z 

2013, Stockholm: Daniel Deusser (GER) and Evita van de Veldbalie 

2014, Geneva: Scott Brash (GBR) and Hello Sanctos 

2015, Geneva: Kent Farrington (USA) and Voyeur 

2016, Geneva: Eric Lamaze (CAN) and Fine Lady 

2017, Geneva: Kevin Staut (FRA) and Reveur de Hurtebise 

2018, Geneva: Steve Guerdat (SUI) and Alamo 

2019, Geneva: Kent Farrington (USA) and Austria 2 

2021, Geneva: Ben Maher (GBR) and Explosion W

2022, Geneva: Henrik von Eckermann (SWE) and King Edward


This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.