World of Showjumping

This week

Coming weeks

CSI5*-W Amsterdam
The Netherlands

CSI4*-W Puebla

CSI4*/CSI2* Wellington

CSI3* Vilamoura

CSI3* Oliva

CSI2* Vejer de la Frontera

CSI2* Myakka City

CSI2* Peelbergen
The Netherlands

CSIL2* Abu Dhabi
United Arab Emirates

CSI2* Kuwait

Australia and Japan qualified for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio

Wednesday, 26 August 2015
Olympic Games Rio 2016

Jamie Kermond with Quite Cassini. Photo (c) Jenny Abrahamsson.
Jamie Kermond and Quite Cassini was a part of the Australian team that qualified for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio during Tuesday's event in Hagen. Photo (c) Jenny Abrahamsson.

Mixed feelings dominated Tuesday afternoon where the participants of Group G decided their qualification for the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro 2016 at the foot of the Hagen Borgberg. Victory and defeat were close together for the 29 starters, because only two team tickets and one for the best individual rider were awarded at Hof Kasselmann. The teams from Japan and Australia made it as the only squads to end the jumping competition with two rounds each with at least three evaluated results and at the same time reached the great goal - Rio de Janeiro 2016.

Two women from Taipei and New Zealand competed for the coveted individual ticket: Isheau Wong (TPE) and Samantha McIntosh (NZL) were both in the jump-off. However, the faster was Wong who finished the course in the saddle of the 11-year-old KWPN mare Zadarijke V in 36.38 seconds and has thus secured a starting place for her federation. McIntosh had the disadvantage with a 39.70 seconds ride and ended up with silver.

For the best team of the qualification the Japanese Toshiki Masui, Daisuke Fukushima, Tadahiro Hayashi and Taizo Sugitani competed in Hagen, the Australian team consisted of Edwina Tops-Alexander, Scott Keach, Julia Hargreaves and Jamie Kermond.

Individual results

1. Isheau Wong (Taipei) Zadarijke V 0 faults / 36.38

2. Samantha McIntosh (New Zealand) Estina 0 / 39.70

3. Edwina Tops-Alexander (Australia) Lintea Tequila 4 / 88.39

4. Julia Hargreaves (Australia) Vedor 4 / 90.58

5. Daisuke Fukushima (Japan) Cornet 4 / 91.18; 6. Tadahiro Hayashi (Japan) Corana's M&M 5 / 90.45

Team result

1. Japan with 9 penalty points

Riders: Toshiki Masui / Taloubetdarco KZ, Daisuke Fukushima / Cornet, Tadahiro Hayashi / Corona's MM, Taizo Sugitani / Avenzio

2. Australia with 20 penalty points

Riders: Edwina Tops-Alexander / Lintea Tequila, Scott Keach / Fedor, Julia Hargreaves / Vedor, Jamie Kermond / Quite Cassini


Source: Press release from P.S.I

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.