World of Showjumping

This week

Coming weeks

CSI5*-W Bordeaux

CSIO4* Sharjah
United Arab Emirates

CSI4*/CSI2* Wellington

CSI3*-W Kuwait

CSI3* Vilamoura

CSI2* Valencia

CSI2* Thermal

CSI2* Sentower Park

CSI2* Sopot Arena

CSI2* Riesenbeck

Harry Charles, William Funnell and Amanda Derbyshire shortlisted for Horse & Hound Awards 2018

Thursday, 11 October 2018

Photo (c) Jenny Abrahamsson. Amanda Derbyshire is nominated for the 'Rider of the Year' award. Photo (c) Jenny Abrahamsson.

Voting opens today for the Horse & Hound Awards 2018, giving equestrian fans the opportunity to recognise their heroes of the year and decide who receives these prestigious awards.

Fans can vote for the winner in 10 categories. The short-listed candidates are announced in today’s Horse & Hound magazine (issue dated 11th October) and are also available to view at

Now in its third year, the annual awards ceremony will take place on 8th November at Cheltenham Racecourse, where all the shortlisted candidates will party the night away at a star-studded, glittering evening attended by more than 250 people.

Previous winners at the Horse & Hound Awards include Rio Olympic individual gold medallist Nick Skelton, who won the first Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016, Nicola Wilson and Charlotte Dujardin.

H&H Editor-in-Chief Sarah Jenkins said: “We were delighted to receive so many nominations for this year’s awards and we had a tough time deciding who to put through to the voting stage. We are thrilled to share the candidates’ fascinating and inspiring stories in this week’s magazine, from those who have shone on the world stage to local stars who keep our horses on the road or volunteer their time and energy so that riders can enjoy their sport. We look forward to seeing who the equestrian world votes through to receive the honours and to welcoming all the short-listed candidates to Cheltenham Racecourse on the night.”

Voting is open at until 11.59pm on 18th October.

The short-listed candidates for the Horse & Hound Awards 2018 are listed below. The winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award is decided by the H&H team, so there is no short-list or voting in this category.

More information: Pippa Roome, [email protected] or 07815 442555

Short-listed candidates from the showjumping world for the Horse & Hound Awards 2018:

• Absorbine Inspiration of the Year: Yvonne Goss, Alena Hughes, Daisy Sadler, Jo Barry

• Saracen Horse Feeds Young Rider of the Year: Harry Charles, Charlotte Fry, William Pittendrigh, Heidi Coy

• Neue Schule Professional Rider of the Year: Bryony Frost, Ros Canter, Sophie Wells, Amanda Derbyshire

• Pikeur Amateur Rider of the Year: Jane Buchan, Emily Cooper, Katie Preston, Avril Bartolomy

• Horseware Groom of the Year: Pat Taylor, Daniel Tarpey, Jane Felton, Tamzin Nesbitt

• Griffin NuuMed Memorable Moment of the Year: The Price phenomenon — Jonelle wins Badminton and Tim wins Burghley, William Funnell’s fourth Hickstead Derby win, Hayley Moore catches loose horse while presenting, Wallace The Great wins on his debut as first mule to compete in British Dressage


Press release from Horse&Hound

Photo © Jenny Abrahamsson

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.