World of Showjumping
World of ShowjumpingWorld of Showjumping

The riders for the 2022 Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final

Tuesday, 08 November 2022

Photo © Jenny Abrahamsson/WoSJ Ben Maher will be defending his 2021-title in the 2022-edition of the Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final in Geneva. Photo © Jenny Abrahamsson for World of Showjumping.

The International Jumping Riders Club (IJRC) has announced which riders that will be competing in the Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final on December 9th, once again held during CHI Geneva. The riders in the final will be:

World no. 1 Henrik von Eckermann (SWE)

World no. 2 Martin Fuchs (SUI)

World no. 3 Julien Epaillard (FRA)

World no. 4 Harrie Smolders (NED)

World no. 6 Ben Maher (GBR)

World no. 7 Simon Delestre (FRA)

World no. 8 Marlon Modolo Zanotelli (BRA)

World no. 9 Peder Fredricson (SWE)

World no. 10 Kevin Staut (FRA)

World no. 10 Mclain Ward (USA)

Created by the International Jumping Riders Club in 2001, the Top 10 Final acknowledges and celebrates the achievements and talent of some of the world's best showjumpers.

The Top 10 Final is regarded as one of the highlights in the international showjumping calendar, during which the world’s top ten riders go head-to-head in a battle for end-of-year glory. 

The Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final ‘in numbers’

Here are a few numbers from the IJRC linked to the first 20 years of the competition:

2 horses have won the class twice: Baloubet du Rouet ridden by Rodrigo Pessoa and Shutterfly ridden by Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum.

2 female riders have won the final: Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum with Shutterfly in 2004 and 2006, and Jessica Kürten with Castel Forbes Libertina in 2007. 

5 riders have won it twice: Ludger Beerbaum, Rodrigo Pessoa, Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum, Steve Guerdat and Kent Farrington.

3 horses have competed in 4 editions: Shutterfly ridden by Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum, Silvana ridden by Kevin Staut and Itot du Chateau ridden by Edwina Tops-Alexander.

5 horses have competed in 3 editions: Goldfever ridden by Ludger Beerbaum, Gitania ridden by Marcus Ehing, Plot Blue ridden by Marcus Ehing, Hickstead ridden by Eric Lamaze, and Chaman ridden by Ludger Beerbaum. 

1 horse has competed in 2 editions: Austria ridden by Kent Farrington.

5 wins for Germany, the country that has won the most editions.

14 is the highest number of Top 10 Finals in which a single rider has competed, Marcus Ehning

17 out of 20 are the editions held in Geneva.

7 non-European riders have competed in at least one Top 10 Final.

40 European riders have competed in at least one Top 10 Final.

The combinations on the podium in 2021 were:

1. Ben Maher and Explosion W 

2. Henrik von Eckermann and King Edward 

3. Jerome Guery and Quel Homme de Hus

Rolex IJRC Top 10 winners

2001, Geneva: Ludger Beerbaum (GER) and Goldfever                             

2002, Geneva: Ludger Beerbaum (GER) and Gladdys S                               

2003, Geneva: Rodrigo Pessoa (BRA) and Baloubet du Rouet                                 

2004, Geneva: Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum (GER) and Shutterfly                      

2005, Geneva: Rodrigo Pessoa (BRA) and Baloubet du Rouet                

2006, Geneva: Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum (GER) and Shutterfly                        

2007, Geneva: Jessica Kürten (IRL) and Castle Forbes Libertina       

2008, Brussels: Michel Robert (FRA) and Kellemoi de Pepita                

2009, Paris: Marcus Ehning (GER) and Plot Blue                                 

2010, Geneva: Steve Guerdat (SUI) and Jalisca Solier                        

2011, Paris: Billy Twomey (IRL) and Tinka’s Serenade                   

2012, Geneva: Christian Ahlmann (GER) and Taloubet Z                   

2013, Stockholm: Daniel Deusser (GER) and Evita van de Veldbalie          

2014, Geneva: Scott Brash (GBR) and Hello Sanctos                      

2015, Geneva: Kent Farrington (USA) and Voyeur                                   

2016, Geneva: Eric Lamaze (CAN) and Fine Lady                      

2017, Geneva: Kevin Staut (FRA) and Reveur de Hurtebise             

2018, Geneva: Steve Guerdat (SUI) and Alamo                                     

2019, Geneva: Kent Farrington (USA) and Austria 2                               

2021, Geneva: Ben Maher (GBR) and Explosion W                   

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.