World of Showjumping
World of ShowjumpingWorld of Showjumping

Hannoveraner Verband, KWPN and Studbook Selle Francais dominate on day two of WBFSH Studbooks Jumping Global Champions Trophy

Friday, 29 September 2023
WBFSH Studbooks Jumping Global Champions Trophy 2023

Photo © Longines Tops International Arena Photo © Longines Tops International Arena


Edited press release from Longines Tops International Arena



The WBFSH Studbooks Jumping Global Champions Trophy at the Longines Tops International Arena in Valkenswaard, the Netherlands, continued on Friday. The WBFSH Studbooks Jumping Global Champions Trophy sets itself apart from traditional events by emphasizing the spirit of unity and collaboration among studbooks. With each combination representing their respective studbook to compete as part of a team, each studbook earns points based on their team's performance. 

In the age category for the 8-year-old horses, KWPN now leads the way with 617 points, followed by the Irish Sport Horse Studbook in second with 601 points, Studbook Selle Francais in third with 568 points, Zangersheide in fourth with 527 points and Danish Warmblood in fifth with 526 points. 

For the Irish Sport Horse Studbook, Commandant Geoff Curran (IRL) and DHF Alliance (ARD VDL Douglas x Lux Z, bred by Paul Douglas and owned by Minister For Defence) won their second class of the weekend when topping the second qualification for the 8-year-old horses after completing the 1.45m track just under three seconds faster than Danish Warmblood’s Calgrafi DWB (Bøgegården's Graf 's Stakkato x Cajus, bred by and owned by Peder Frederiksen) ridden by Emil Hallundbaek (DEN), while Hendrik Lowe (GER) and Lajacuma (Lycon 3 x Rockwell, bred by Hannelore Reibke and owned by Ursula Rosendahl) representing the Westfalisches Pferdestammbuch placed third. 

Friday saw the 7-year-old horses take to the arena for the first time. Studbook Selle Francais took the win as a team and individually with Emeric George (FRA) and Gengis Kann de Londe (Kannan x Diamant de Semilly, bred and owned by Mathias Spilmann and Pierre Spilmann) in first. The Anglo European Studbook's If Evers Girl (Silver Wave x Arko III, bred by Harry Whall and owned by Abbie Summers) ridden by Benjamin Bick was the second fastest today, followed by the Irish Sport Horse Studbook's Bennys Lass (Bennys Legacy x Nad Elshiba xx, bred by Thomas Hutchinson and owned by Paraic Kenny) ridden by Paraic Kenny in third. After the first qualifier for the 7-year-old horses, Selle Francais leads the way with 319 points, followed by the Anglo European Studbook in second with 294 points and the Irish Sport Horse Studbook in third with 258 points.

In the age category for 5-year-old horses, the Hannoveraner Verband leads the way with 674 points, followed by Selle Francais in second with 629 points, Zangersheide in third with 626 points, Danish Warmblood in fourth with 609 points and the Irish Sport Horse Studbook in fifth with 607 points. Selle Francais had a near perfect day with four of their five 5-year-old horses jumping clear rounds. Paris Hugo (FRA) and Ioke des Forets (GFE Candy de Nantuel x Untouchable M, bred by Fabrice Paris and owned by Henriette Evain) took the win ahead of Patrick Spits (BEL) and Sonny van het Leliehof (Toulon x Tangelo van de Zuuthoeve, bred by Stal Het Leliehof) in second, while Matthieu Schmitt (FRA) and Izalia Mouche (GFE Candy de Nantuel x Quartz du Chanu, bred by G.A.E.C. Mouche and owned by Marie Noirjean and S.A.R.L. Etrier De Moselle) took third. 




*The format: 

The event is open to teams selected by WBFSH Studbooks. Each Studbook can enter one team in each age category, and each team should be composed of minimum four horses and four riders and maximum five riders and five horses, plus one reserve pair in case of substitution. Riders are allowed to represent only one Studbook and can ride a maximum of two horses per category. 

The Studbook team result is established by adding the points of the best four riders of each team, with the winning rider receiving 90 points, the second 85 points, the third 82 points, the fourth 80 points, the fifth 79 points and so on. Athletes eliminated, retiring or not completing their round for any reason will receive 0 points. 

All competing teams are allowed to take part in the final, where their standing in the team ranking determines the starting position. Each team should have three different riders in its team for the final, and in the final, these riders start after each other. The winning teams in the final will be established according to the total penalties and combined time of their three riders. 

Click here for more information.


This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.