World of Showjumping
World of ShowjumpingWorld of Showjumping

Kenny and new mount Babalou 41 capture Hollow Creek Farm 1.50m National Grand Prix at WEF

Saturday, 03 March 2018
Winter Equestrian Festival 2018 - Week 8 CSIO4*

Photo (c) Sportfot. Darragh Kenny and Babalou 41. Photo (c) Sportfot.

A new combination in the ring went to the winner’s circle in the $50,000 Hollow Creek Farm 1.50m National Grand Prix over 34 other competitors. Darragh Kenny (IRL) and Babalou 41, owned by Jack Snyder, were the only double clear in the class, winning on a time of 39.945 seconds.

Second place went to Rodrigo Lambre (BRA) and Mario Onate’s Chapilot, who had four faults in 38.513 seconds. Mario Deslauriers (CAN) and Bardolina 2, owned by Wishing Well Farm LLC, were third with four faults in 39.778 seconds.

“I always thought she was a really super horse and I thought she would be a suitable ride for me,” said Kenny of Babalou 41, his mount of six weeks. “It ended up working out for me and the owners for me to ride the horse. She has so much quality. She’s so careful and so scopey. I normally get on really well with mares.”

This was their first 1.50m class together and victory came in the “getting to know each other stage,” said Kenny, but he wasn’t going to hold back when it came to speed in the jump-off.

“Everybody who knows me, [knows] I don’t like to finish second,” he said. “My plan was always to try and win this class. I was warming up and saw that nobody was clear, so I thought, ‘Ok, go clear and be quick enough, but don’t go crazy.’ And then hopefully it pays off.”

Kenny and Babalou 41 will compete next in the FEI division during WEF 10 and will also aim for the final week 12 competition.

Final Results: $50,000 Hollow Creek Farm 1.50 National Grand Prix

1   BABALOU 41: 2005 Oldenburg mare by Balou du Rouet x Silvio I
DARRAGH KENNY (IRL), Jack Snyder: 0/0/39.945

2   CHAPILOT: 2007 Hanoverian gelding by Chacco Blue x Pilot
RODRIGO LAMBRE (BRA), Mario Onate: 0/4/38.513

3   BARDOLINA 2: 2009 Holsteiner mare by Clarimo x Landos
MARIO DESLAURIERS (CAN), Wishing Well Farm LLC: 0/4/39.778

4   KIRSCHWASSER SCF: 2010 BWP stallion by Amaretto d’Arco x Nebab de Reve
SHANE SWEETNAM (IRL), Spy Coast Farm LLC: 0/4/40.268

5   COLLIN: 2007 KWPN gelding by Colandro x Amethist
LUIZ FRANCISCO DE AZEVEDO (BRA), Luiz Francisco de Azevedo: 0/8/36.337

6   AL CALYPSO: 2002 Hanoverian gelding by Askari x Calypso II
MANUEL FERNANDEZ HACHE (DOM), Aristides Fernandez Zucco: 0/8/41.052

7   CLOCHARD: 2008 SBS stallion by Kasmir van Schuttershof x Cascadeur
VICTORIA COLVIN (USA), Neil Jones Equestrian Inc.: 4/72.696

8   TIENNA: 2008 Canadian Sport Horse mare by For Pleasure x Polydox
DANIEL COYLE (IRL), Ariel Grange: 4/73.130

9   DONCHALANT: 2008 KWPN mare by Larino x Amaretto I
MATTHEW METELL (USA), Wolver Hollow: 4/73.571

10  PAPARAZZI: 2009 Irish Sport Horse mare by Pacino
PATRICIA GRIFFITH (USA), Callie Seaman: 4/73.841

11  HANNA VAN HD: 2007 BWP mare by Nabab de Reve x Olisco
JONATHON MILLAR (CAN), Ignas Phillips: 4/75.887

12  DSH CHARLY: 2009 Holsteiner stallion by Clearway x Silvester
CAPT. BRIAN COURNANE (IRL), Capt. Brian Cournane: 4/76.485

Source: Press release from WEF / Photo (c) Sportfot. 

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.