World of Showjumping
World of ShowjumpingWorld of Showjumping

Olympic and World Cup Champions entered in CSI3*-W CP Palm Beach Masters presented by Sovaro®

Monday, 29 January 2018
CSI3*-W CP Palm Beach Masters 2018

Photo (c) CP Palm Beach Masters McLain Ward is entered for the 2018 CP Palm Beach Masters. Photo (c) CP Palm Beach Masters.

A star-studded lineup of Olympic and FEI World Cup™ Champions have confirmed their entries for the third annual CP Palm Beach Masters CSI3*-W presented by Sovaro®. With more than 100 horses entered in the FEI division, 69 riders from 17 countries will descend on the pristine showgrounds of Deeridge Farms in Wellington, Florida, to compete February 1-4, 2018.

The 2018 CP Palm Beach Masters presented by Sovaro® (PBM) offers nearly $400,000 in prize money and features the $220,000 Longines FEI World Cup™ Jumping Wellington, one of the final two East Coast qualifiers in the Longines FEI World Cup™ Jumping North American League. Many of the elite entries will be competing in this featured event, seeking valuable points to qualify for the 2018 Longines FEI World Cup™ Final in Paris, France in April.

Heading the impressive list of U.S. entries is the reigning Longines FEI World Cup™ champion, McLain Ward, who won the Final last April in Omaha on the superstar mare, HH Azur. Ward, a two-time Olympic team Gold medalist who also won the individual gold medal at the 2015 Pan American Games, was recently named the 2017 USEF Equestrian of the Year.

Joining Ward is his four-time Olympic teammate, Beezie Madden, who shares his 2004 and 2008 Olympic team gold and 2016 team silver medals and also has an individual bronze medal that she won in 2008. She also has won the Longines FEI World Cup™ Final, having won in 2013. Madden has been the USEF Equestrian of the Year four times – in 2005, 2006, 2013, and 2014.

Other U.S. Olympic veterans entered include team gold medalist Laura Kraut, who took second place in last year’s $216,000 Longines FEI World Cup™ qualifier at the Masters, team gold and silver medalist Leslie Howard, Margie Engle and Lauren Hough. Other top U.S. riders include Georgina Bloomberg, Katie Dinan, Quentin Judge, Marilyn Little, Peter Lutz, Christine McCrea, Todd Minikus, Michael Morrissey, Alison Robitaille (currently leading the Longines FEI World Cup™ Jumping North American League standings), Callan Solem, Jessica Springsteen, Lauren Tisbo and Catherine Tyree.

Joining them will be a star-studded line-up from 16 other countries including Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Norway, Peru and Switzerland. Three-time Olympic veteran Ben Maher of Great Britain, who won a team gold medal at the 2012 London Olympics, heads this list along with four former FEI World Cup™ champions – Beat Mandli of Switzerland, a two-time Olympian who won the Final in 2007; Ian Millar of Canada, the first rider to win back-to-back Finals (1988-1989) and who has competed in a record 10 Olympic Games; Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum, a three-time Olympian who has won the Finals three times (2005, 2008, 2009) and Rodrigo Pessoa of Brazil, the former Olympic and World Champion who is the only rider to win the Final three consecutive years (1998, 1999, 2000).


Text and picture © CP Palm Beach Masters

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.