World of Showjumping

This week

Coming weeks

CSIO5* Rome

CSI4* Bourg en Bresse

CSI3* Reims

CSIO3* Uggerhalne

CSI3* Redefin

CSI3* Tryon

CSI2* Valkenswaard 3
The Netherlands

CSI3* Caledon

CSI2* Lexington

CSI2* Ranshofen

CSI2* Budapest

CSI2* San Miguel de Allende

CSI2* Tubbergen
The Netherlands

CSI2* Ciekocinko

CSI2* Saugertiers

CSI2* Bonheiden

CSI2*-W Chengdu

Young Riders Academy announces 2016 team

Tuesday, 17 May 2016

The 2016 team for the Young Riders Academy has been announced. Photo (c) YRA.
The 2016 team for the Young Riders Academy has been announced. Photo (c) YRA.

The Young Riders Academy team for 2016 has been announced as the selection panel, consisting of Otto Becker, Dirk Demeersman, Emile Hendrix and sports manager Sven Holmberg, has evaluated all the candidates’ profiles, attitudes, capabilities and motivation together with competition results.

Five riders out of the 28 applicants made it to Full Program-team, while six of them entered this year's Educational Program-team. “This year the board and the selection panel have really had a very challenging task in choosing the final team. National federations presented a group of athletes exceptionally motivated and technically prepared,” commented Sven Holmberg, Sport Manager.

The Full Program offers six months of “tailor-made” training and boarding at a renowned professional stable and includes qualified education in communication, business and economics, veterinary and legal practice connected to showjumping. The Educational Program-team will gather during the year for the four-five academic sessions, and this team will also benefit from YRA support during the jumping seasons.

The riders that have been taken into the Full Program are: Cassandra Braeckmans (BEL ), Jack Dodd (IRL), Pål Flam (NOR), Eoin McMahon (IRL) and Emma O´Dwyer (GBR ). Part of this year's team is also Laura Klaphake (GER), already nominated during the 2015 selection.

The riders that have been taken into the Educational Program are: Derin Demirsoy (TUR), Laetitia Du Couëdic (SUI), Michael Duffy (IRL), Giampiero Garofalo (ITA), Spencer Roe (GBR) and Basile Rubio (FRA).

Adam Grzegorzewski (POL) and Ventsislav Izov (BUL) have been outstanding in both riding and interviews, but due to their very young age they have been appointed for next year's program. 

“We want to thank all European National Federations for their support, their growing interest in this project is a great honor for all of us,” declared moreover Eleonora Ottaviani, President of the Board.

Both Teams will meet in Lugano in June for the 2016 program kick off at Franklin University of Switzerland.   

*** The young Riders Academy is a program conceived for European talented young show jumpers, under the patronage of the European Equestrian Federation (EEF), with the cooperation of the International Jumping Riders Club (IJRC) and the support of Rolex.

Founded in 2014 by Athenaeum, a non-profit association, the program will give talented riders between the ages of 18 and 23 the chance to get six months of training and boarding at a well-known professional stable. On top of that, professional education in communication, business and economics, veterinary and legal practice related to show jumping. The objective is to develop future champions as well as potential managers of this sport.


Source: Press release from Young Riders Academy // Picture © Young Riders Academy

This photo has been added to your cart !

Your shopping cart »
This website is using cookies for statistics, site optimization and retargeting purposes. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website. Read more here.